Orange Cap In ipl 2022: Top 10 Orange Cap winners in IPL 2022

By | May 27, 2022

What is Orange Cap?

The orange cap was started in the first season of IPL which was in 2008. The orange cap is awarded to the top run-getters or the top run-scorers in the IPL. As the IPL progresses and the batsman score the Cap is passed on to the best and highest run-scorer batsman. At the end of the tournament, the orange cap is finally given to the Batsman who scored the highest runs in the whole season of the Indian premier league. The batsman who scores the highest runs is awarded an orange cap and he is allowed to wear the orange cap throughout the game on the field. If there is a tiebreaker in the event and two Batsman has scored the same, the batsman with the highest strike rate will be awarded the orange cap.

Orange Cap- First Winners

The first orange cap was started in 2008 and the first recipient of the orange cap was Shaun Marsh, he represented Punjab Kings and made 616 runs in the first season of IPL. In 2010, the first Indian Batsman to win the Orange Cap was Sachin Tendulkar. He scored 618 runs and was representing Mumbai Indians. In 2011 and 2012, Chris Gayle won the orange cap for two consecutive seasons of IPL. David Warner is the only player, who won the orange cap the greatest number of times. He won the orange cap three times and he was representing Sunrisers Hyderabad. In 2021, the orange cap was awarded to Ruturaj Gaikwad, who scored 635 runs with a strike rate of 136.27.

Top 10 Orange Cap winners of IPL 2022

Sl. No. Players Teams Runs
1. Jos Buttler RR 718
2. KL Rahul LSG 616
3. Quinton de Kock LSG 508
4. Shikhar Dhawan PBKS 460
5. Hardik Pandya GT 453
6. Deepak Hooda LSG 451
7. David Miller GT 449
8. Faf du Plessis RCB 443
9. Shubman Gill GT 438
10. Liam Livingstone PBKS 437

FAQs on IPL Orange Cap 2022

1. Who is the orange cap holder in the 2022 IPL?
Ans. In IPL 2022, the most highlighted orange cap holders are Jos Buttler with 629 runs from Rajasthan Royals, KL Rahul with 537 runs from Lucknow Super Giants, Quinton de lock with 502 runs from Lucknow super Giants, and Shikhar Dhawan with 460 runs from Punjab kings.

2. What is the history of the orange cap award in IPL?
Ans. The orange cap award was started in the first season of IPL 2008. The orange cap is rewarded for the outstanding performance by a batsman.

3. Who was the first winner of Orange Cap in IPL?
Ans. Shaun Marsh was the first player to win the Orange Cap, he scored 616 runs in 11 matches which was the highest run scored in the first season of IPL.

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

Find More Sports News Here

Source link