Indian officer Anwar Hussain Shaik is new chair of WTO committee

By | May 27, 2022

An Indian Government Officer, Anwar Hussain Shaik has been made the chair of the World Trade Organisation’s Committee on Technical Barriers on Trade. Mr. Shaik will take this role from Elisa Maria Olmeda de Alejandro from Mexico. WTO is a 164-member multilateral body which formulates rules for global exports and imports and adjudicates disputes between countries on trade-related issues. India is a member since 1995.

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

What is the Technical Barriers to Trade (TBT) Agreement?

The Technical Barriers to Trade (TBT) Agreement aims to ensure that technical regulations, standards and conformity assessment procedures are non-discriminatory and do not create unnecessary obstacles to trade. TBT Committee work involves two broad areas, review of specific measures and strengthening implementation of the TBT Agreement. WTO members use this committee to discuss specific trade concerns, specific laws, regulations or procedures that affect their trade, usually in response to notifications.

Important takeaways for all competitive exams:

  • WTO  Headquarters: Geneva, Switzerland;
  • WTO  Purpose: Reduction of tariffs and other barriers to trade;
  • WTO Founded: 1 January 1995.

Find More Appointments Here

Indian officer Anwar Hussain Shaik is new chair of WTO committee_60.1Indian officer Anwar Hussain Shaik is new chair of WTO committee_70.1

Source link